In the Audience tool, there is an option to select Push Enabled or Disabled. This may lead you to wonder if there is a difference between a push being disabled versus uninstalled. Uninstall and Push Enabled are two different definitions and they are not included in each other.
Push Disabled / Enabled
Push Enabled / Disabled explicitly means a user has the app currently installed. If Push is Enabled, the user has set the device settings to allow push notifications; if Push is Disabled, the user has the app installed, but does not want push notifications to be sent to their device. This attribute is only applicable to devices with the app installed.
A user who has the app uninstalled does not have the app on their device anymore and will not receive any push notifications from the app. Therefore, a device with the mobile app uninstalled would not have the "Push Enabled" attribute at all.
Carnival knows a mobile app has been uninstalled on a device based on responses from the push notification services provided by Apple or Google. An attempt to send a push notification with the token of that device will receive a "Device Not Found" response from the notification service provider and Carnival will know that the app has been uninstalled on that device. Besides the regular push notifications sent by our customers, Carnival also performs a "silent" push daily to check the status of all the mobile devices in our database and update accordingly.